Monday, 08 July 2019 13:44

Four new deacons ordained in Maputo

On 1 and 2 June 2019, the Province of St Peter-Julian Eymard celebrated in the community of Maputo the perpetual profession and ordination to the diaconate of 4 SSS brothers of Mozambique.

After having ended their academic studies at Kinshasa (Dem. Rep. Congo) in 2018 by obtaining a license in theology at the Catholic University of Congo (UCC), they followed the Programme of Preparation for Perpetual Profession (P4) for three months in the community of Barrage at Brazzaville in the Republic of Congo.

On returning to Mozambique, the 4 brothers spent a year of integration into the community in pastoral activity. At the end of their internship these young persons made their perpetual vows in St Anne’s parish of Munhuana on the night of 1 June before Father Geraldo Uaiare, the superior of the SSS community at Maputo, who represented the Provincial Superior, and in the presence of Monsignor Juliasse, an auxiliary bishop of the Archdiocese of Maputo. The 4 newly professed religious were ordained deacons of the Roman Catholic Church on 2 June 2019 on the feast of the Ascension of the Lord.

Finally, Father Geraldo communicated the assignments of the newly ordained sss deacons – César da Cruz JOSÉ, Félix Florindo TUPASSO, Manuel Ernesto SITOE – to the Saint Anne Community of Munhuana, and that of Vasco Dinis SITOE to the Community of the Saint Peter-Julian Eymard Foyer in Maputo.